Why is content so important? How to monetize web content? If you are from the media, the answer to this question you will know – good content is a prerequisite for success in media, both in the real and in the virtual world. If you compare a media site with an online store (say www.cnn.com with www.ebay.com), it is immediately evident that the focus of online stores are products and services, which “occupy” the greatest part of the site, while in the case of online media the greatest focus is on articles, video or audio clips, and readers’ comments. Only interesting, informative and interactive content will enable you to attract and retain visitors, and thus advertisers. The equation is simple: the better the content, the more visitors; the more visitors, the more advertisers; more advertisers are coming with greater income; the larger the income, the more opportunities for further enrichment of content … and so on.
To attract advertisers, you need to have accurate and detailed information about site traffic and popularity of the content and that you are able to give them an insight into the behavior and preferences of visitors, as well as their demographic profile (for example gender, age, address, etc.). This gives rise to the need for accurately defined, measurable indicators of quality and popularity of web content, as well as for their continued monitoring.
The main indicator of popularity and at the same time “the cashing in of” content is certainly the number of pageviews. More pageviews means more opportunities for visitors to see ads of advertisers. The equation is therefore very simple – if you charge for Advertisement display (impression), by the so-called CPM (Cost per Mille) model, which charges the cost per 1000 impressions, a bigger number of pages that contain advertisements directly raises revenue. Let’s say you have 200,000 visits per month, with an average 3 pages viewed per visit and the opportunity to place 3 ads per page, with the CMP of 10 euros total, the monthly income will be (200,000 x 3 x 3) * (10/1000) = 18,000 euro. From these calculations it is clear that the number of pageviews, combined with the total number of visits, is the main indicator of the popularity of the site. It is important to not allow that your analysis ends there, because relying only on these two basic indicators can push you to the wrong strategy and jeopardize your long-term survival on the Internet guiding you to focus on the hunt for as many visitors as possible and with that neglecting the quality of the content you offer your visitors.
When we talk about quality, it is important to note that this does not mean the quality in an intellectual or artistic point of view, nor from the point of areas or topics which the website is concerned with. Thus, for example, a website dedicated to video games, can have better content quality than the one which deals with theatrical events, if it is adapted to the demands of their target group and presented in a interesting way. High quality websites are considered to be the websites that manage to interest visitors, inspiring them to interact and induces action or conversion (for example, join, subscription, purchase). In this context, as the next important issue the question of arises about the structure of traffic you attract, and the behavior of visitors who find themselves on your site. For the most direct indicator of the quality of incoming traffic you can consider “Bounce Rate“, which is the ratio of visitors who left the site immediately upon arrival, without looking at any additional page except the one through which they came (landing page) and the total number of visitors (bounces / visits). High rejection rate (over 30%) say that you are having visitors who are not really interested in the content you are offering, or you are not able to give them the information they seek. From a financial point of view, the high rejection rate means lost revenue from advertising. Due to the high refusal rate usually there is low CTR (click – through rate), or the percentage of clicks on ads are also low, as uninterested visitors will have no incentive to click on the ads, which will also affect the rating of your site to advertisers. Low CTR leads to an even lower conversion rate and consequently a lower CPA (Cost per Action), which further adversely affects the potential revenue from advertising.
Another important indicator of the quality of the relationship between your site and your visitors coming back over the total number of visitors. If this ratio is high, you have more and more loyal visitors. When to the analysis you add the frequency of visits, expressed through the average number of visits per visitor, and the share of visitors who came back more than (x) times (say 5), you can easily measure loyalty. In this case, the criteria of Blog Ideas [INFOGRAPHIC]" href="http://mbseoservice.com/12-blog-ideas-infographic/" target="_blank">quality of content for the site and the and advertisers differ, because advertisers find the most important thing to be reached, which is based on the new visitors (First time visitors), and to the site the most important thing is to motivate existing visitors to return and continue to regularly visit the site. It is therefore necessary to have in mind the need to satisfy both requirements, and that the aggressive marketing aimed at gaining new visitors (SEO, SEM, email, etc.) is combined with actions aimed at attracting existing visitors to ensure their loyalty, often through special benefits or preferential treatment. Customer loyalty will result in their openness to share with you some personal information, necessary in negotiations with advertisers, who want to have more information about the profile and preferences of their target group.
With the advent of tools that we are provided by Web 2.0, for good content it is no longer good enough to have high-quality and timely information, it is necessary to give visitors the opportunity to own and contribute to the creation of content, either through forums, comments, recommendations, voting or sharing within their social network. Because of that, with the classic indicators of interest such as the average number of viewed pages by visitor, the average time of staying on the site or some section of it, the level of interactiveness of visitors which can be measured by the number of comments, votes, printed texts, forum activity, blog activity, user profiles, etc. Following and the measuring of these activities can give you the necessary data to build a behaviour profile of your visitors. This profile, combined with the demographic profile that you already have about your loyal visitors and the basic indicators mentioned at the beginning of the text (number of visits, number of viewed pages, the share of new and returning visitors) will give you a clear picture of the content quality and the cashing in potential of your site, as well as a series of arguments backed up by numbers for attracting advertisers.